Grandma’s Coffee Buns

Day Street, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, is a place I hold very dear. It’s where my dad and my auntie grew up and was the home of my grandparents, Mary and Ronnie. Sadly my granddad died just a month or so before I was born, but I like the fact that he knew of my existence, even though I never got to meet him.

My grandma was lovely. She was a seamstress by profession and I remember her making clothes for my dollies and tackling the ‘mending pile’ with great efficiency every time she came to stay with us. Funny how we seem to dispose of things much more easily these days – I sew the odd button back on or stitch up a fallen-down hem, but I think we’re generally a lot less thrifty than previous generations.

Picture: My GrandmaI’ve probably inherited a lot of my ‘craftiness’ from my grandma – she taught me to sew, knit and bake when I was a little girl. I’ve mentioned her fruitcake recipe on here before. I remember her pantry; full of baking ingredients, rhubarb from the garden, sacks of potatoes, apples, biscuit and cake tins, it was just like something you would see in a wartime museum.

My grandma died in 1995 and I still miss her – she would have been totally bewildered by the whole internet thing, but hopefully quite proud to have been featured on my blog! Here’s the recipe for her coffee buns – these odd little things are neither biscuit nor cake and they don’t even have any coffee in them! They are so-called, I believe, because they are very tasty as a snack with a mid-morning cup of coffee. I’m entering these into English Mum’s Big Bakeoff, hope you enjoy x

Coffee Buns (makes about 15)

8oz self-raising flour, 4oz butter, 1 egg, beaten, 4 oz brown sugar, 1 tbsp baking powder, 6oz currants/sultanas/raisins, splash of milk.

Rub fat into flour. Add dry ingredients. Mix in egg and milk slowly to form a sticky dough. Spoon dollops of mixture onto a greased baking tray. Bake in oven for 25mins at 180’c.

Picture: Grandma's Coffee Buns

This entry was posted in Yummy Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grandma’s Coffee Buns

  1. They sound a bit like the ‘nanny cakes’ that my great Nan used to make when she was alive! They look yummy mmmm I may have to make those as it looks an easy recipe to follow!

  2. Elsie Button says:

    Your grandma sounded like the perfect storybook grandma -teaching you to cook, sew, knit etc – so lovely! x

  3. Your Grandma sounds wonderful. I’m pregnant with my first child (due October) and have found in the past few weeks I’ve had more reminders of my grandmother than ever. I don’t know if it’s because I’m thinking about my own capabilities as a parent and hoping to draw inspiration from her (and my mum too, of course). Food seems to bring about the strongest influx of memories, which is why your post struck such a chord, I think. Nana made me an apple pie whenever I saw her, and even baked me a tart to take with me when I moved to university… It drew in my neighbours, who happily shared a slice or two, and I settled in to my new life, it was as if Nana was exerting her usual positive influence :-)

  4. blissfulmum says:

    She was a storybook grandma wasn’t she! I was very close to her and I’m glad I’ve remember so many of the things she taught me. Her baking was legendary and she even appeared in a BBC cookbook of family recipes a few years ago – I’ll get my mum to find it and maybe post some pictures up soon! Helen x

Leave a Reply

