Vintage Loveliness

Funny how one thing leads to another. I started off researching for my blog last week and in doing so, came across several beautiful sites extolling the virtues of all things vintage. Until now, the nearest I’ve got to vintage style is dragging my reluctant husband around our local antiques centre, with little success. Generally we shop in John Lewis. Have you seen their latest advert with the Billy Joel theme tune? I must be a marketing dream as I cried unashamedly the whole way throughout! Seems I’m not the only one, according to this recent article I came across on the Mumsrock website – http://www.mumsrock.com/articles/speed-parenting/rock-guides-to-life/why-we-love-the-john-lewis-ad.

Anyway, I digress. With growing enthusiasm for the vintage look, I picked up the June copy of ‘Country Living’ magazine and indulged myself. As part of their ‘Your Countryside Needs You!‘ campaign, there’s a very cute article on reviving ‘afternoon tea’, with glossy pictures full of chintzy plates and cupcakes. So inspired was I, that I went back to the antiques centre yesterday with a whole new approach. I spent nearly 2 hours browsing and rummaging through piles of bric-a-brac (sans children obviously!) and found these lovely plates and glass cake stand. I’m so please with all this vintage loveliness that I’ll definitely be going back – the excitement of unearthing a hidden treasure for just a few pounds was really good fun!

On Friday I have the perfect opportunity to display my new finds, helping at the Strawberry Cream Tea at church in aid of Breast Cancer Care. This is for such a great cause and hopefully the weather will stay warm and sunny for us. I better finish for now, as I need to get on with some more baking!

This entry was posted in Vintage Bliss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

