Fruitcake

Just a quick post today but still on the theme of cake. I thought I’d share a recipe for my grandma’s very special fruitcake, which has been passed down our family through the generations. It’s really easy to make and tastes delicious!

  • 10 oz self raising flour
  • 6 oz soft brown sugar
  • 6 oz butter
  • 1lb mixed fruit
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon mixed spice

Line a cake tin (I use either a 6inch or 8inch round tin) with greaseproof paper and heat oven to 180°c. Melt butter and place in big mixing bowl with the brown sugar. Sift in flour and add mixed spice. Add mixed fruit and 3 well beaten eggs. Stir well. Slowly add 1 cup of milk until mixture is a smooth consistency. Pour into cake tin and bake in oven for about 1 1/2 hours until golden. To check if cake is ready, test centre with a cocktail stick – if it comes out clean then the cake is done. Turn onto a wire rack and allow to cool.

Not sure whether it’s a Yorkshire thing or just my dad’s family, but he always has his fruitcake with a chunk of cheddar cheese. Any readers from Yorkshire, if you can enlighten me that would be fantastic! As for me, I like to eat my fruitcake just on its own, preferably with a nice cup of tea and a good magazine!

This entry was posted in Yummy Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fruitcake

  1. TheMadHouse says:

    My FIL always eats fruitcake with a slice of good cheese too, so yep that would be a Yorkshire thing

    • blissfulmum says:

      Glad it’s not just my family then! Seems strange it’s only in the North of England, no idea where it originated from…

      • Sara says:

        My Yorkshire family always have a chunk of Wenslydale cheese with their fruitcake – so maybe that’s a North Yorkshire thing?! Yummy though….

Leave a Reply

