Photography ~ The Gallery: Holidays

Since starting my blog I’ve been carrying my camera everywhere and have to say that I’m really enjoying improving my photography skills. I bought my husband a fancy digital SLR camera for his birthday last year (some sort of electronic gadgetry is a sure winner in the birthday stakes where he’s concerned) and given that said husband is pretty good at chopping off people’s legs and the tops of their heads in most photos, I now seem to have inherited a lovely new toy to play with. There’s a lot to learn (I haven’t even taken it off the ‘auto’ setting yet!) but I’m getting there.

I’ve got a fairly good eye for composition but the technical stuff is a bit beyond me at the moment. My brother can give me a few lessons – he’s a professional photographer and has recently started his own business: Geoff Daley Photography. Just had a thought – maybe he’ll give me a few fancy photos to feature on my blog! 

I’ve just discovered The Gallery, run by Tara at Sticky Fingers and this week’s theme is ‘Holidays’. I could have picked so many photos on this theme – childhood holidays camping in the South of France, a trip to Barcelona with my uni girls, a long weekend in Prague when I came home with an engagement ring, or my first ever (and thoroughly enjoyable!) skiing holiday earlier this year. In the end though, I decided to go with some photos from our honeymoon. We went to Kenya and the Seychelles, which was an amazing adventure and a much-needed rest, all rolled into a beautiful 3 weeks with my new husband!

 

Picture: Masai Mara Balloon FlightEarly morning balloon flight over the Masai Mara

 

Picture: CheetahCheetah in the midday sun

 

Picture: Giraffe at DuskGiraffe at Dusk

Picture: SeychellesBeautiful Seychelles

This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photography ~ The Gallery: Holidays

  1. whatdidyoudotodaymama says:

    What beautiful photos, that must have been an amazing trip!

  2. Susie says:

    Those are beautiful pics. Am a bit jealous-both of the holidays and the pics.

  3. Fabulous photos, would love to be in a hot air balloon looking over all of that:) Jen

  4. blissfulmum says:

    Thanks for the comments! It was an amazing trip for so many reasons. The balloon ride was expensive but if you ever go on safari I totally recommend going on one if you can – the aerial views were stunning, especially as we went in September during the wildebeast migration.

Leave a Reply

