Fairycake Heaven

Picture: Nana's birthday cakeAs you can probably tell from other posts on this blog, I love cakes – baking them, decorating them, especially eating them! But my fondness for cake does not extend quite so far as the highly fashionable Cupcake trend that has swept the UK over the last couple of years.

True, with all their wonderful, glittery decorations, cupcakes are certainly a pleasure on the eye. I would even go as far to say that the first few mouthfuls are indeed a delight to the taste buds. Unfortunately though, that’s where cupcakes and I part company. The problem is, they are just too much. A muffin-sized cake with a mountain of icing on top is just too many calories for one girl to take. It’s not even as if I’m a tiny waif – I’m well known for being able to put away my food! I just find cupcakes a bit too sickly and filling to eat a whole one.

I think my lack of enthusiasm for cupcakes stems from a far greater appreciation of the humble fairy cake. A smaller version of the cupcake, fairy cakes provide ample opportunity for the same mouth-watering varieties and beautiful decorations, whilst still remaining small enough to eat in 3 or 4 mouthfuls. More importantly though, the unassuming fairy cake is a nostalgic reminder of the cakes mum used to make for the school fete and birthday parties, usually with white glace icing and a cherry on top. Butterfly cakes with their creamy, buttery icing, sponge wings and dusted-sugar tops, were another of my childhood favourites.

Picture: Cupcakes IHaving said all this, I genuinely would not want to offend the very talented cupcake makers I’ve met in real life and through blogging. Some of the creations I’ve come across are just truly the most beautiful edible things ever made. I’d never have the patience (or bravery) to attempt cake-making professionally, but can point you in the direction of my friends Mary and Rosie at MooRoo Cakes in Lincolnshire and also a lovely lady called Julie I met through Twitter, whose company IceMaidenCakes is based in Somerset.

For further cupcake/fairy cake inspiration, check out English Mum’s lovely foodie blog, where you will find lots of photos from the cupcake competition she ran back in February and details of her current baking challenge for July. You still have time to join in (I’ll be posting my entry tomorrow!) Finally, any cupcake makers out there who want to change my mind, please do send me a sample and I’m sure I can be persuaded!

Picture: Cupcakes II

Above: Birthday cakes I made for my Nana’s 95th birthday party last week, Happy Birthday Nana!

Below: Choc fudge heart cakes, valentine cakes, fairy cake selection

Picture: Fairycake selection

Picture: Heart cakes

This entry was posted in Yummy Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fairycake Heaven

  1. English Mum says:

    I know exactly what you mean – sometimes that huge swirl of buttercream icing is just TOO much! I love fairy cakes – and you’ve made me all nostalgic for butterfly cakes too! xx

  2. Greenie01 says:

    I love both. My daughter has just brought home cupcakes from The Hummingbird Bakery. Bang goes the diet!

  3. I love baking cupcakes, but I don’t like eating them for just the same reasons. It’s just too much cake and icing. They make me feel a bit sick! Your fairy cakes are beautiful.

  4. Mummy Zen says:

    Yummy! Those cakes look very impressive. Bet your Nana really appreciated all the hard work that went into those.

  5. Ice Maiden says:

    I have to agree – I’m not a big fan of buttercream so I am seldom tempted to eat the cupcakes I make for customers (thank goodness!). My favourtie small cake is a butterfly bun made with lemon sponge, a big dollop of lemon curd and a sprinkling of icing sugar – just like Nan used to make!

    I’m really enjoying your blog 🙂

  6. Tatjana says:

    Oooh, now I’m all nostalgic for my time with Mrs Morris, the old lady used to stay with in England for language holidays! She always had bucketloads of butterfly cakes in the freezer, yum!

  7. whatdidyoudotodaymama says:

    Your cakes look amazing! I’m with you out about cupcakes, a naughty finger lick of buttercream is delicious but a whole toppings worth is too much of a sugar hit. Have been enjoying making fairy cakes recently (post to come about our first baking session, lots of fun but presentation leaving something to be desired!) with some vanilla pods someone brought me from Madagscar, going for a very basic approach though, no icing, just eating them warm from the oven … yum yum!

  8. Nicola says:

    Yummy, yummy, yummy & they look sooo dainty and beautiful – you are very talented!! x

  9. Alethea Hill says:

    I must admit that with cupcakes I usually eat all the buttercream off first then start on the cake so I love them from top to bottom, but then I can only manage one at a time. With fairy cakes I have to ration myself though or I can defeat half a dozen during one pot of tea.
    Lovely blog, good luck with the new business!

  10. TheGlutton says:

    I thought this very same thing last night after making cupcakes with my son. I thought perhaps it was just me that found the buttercream swirls too much. Good to know I am not alone 🙂 Your fairy cakes look amazing and butterfly cakes were my favorite too.

  11. blissfulmum says:

    Thank you for all your lovely compliments! I think there’s definitely a fairy-cake revolution in the wind. I’ve been discovering lots of lovely cake toppings recently so will have to try out a few more and will post them up here if they’re any good! Helen

Leave a Reply

