My Online World

Since 14th June, when I made my first little outing into the world of blogging, I’ve discovered a whole new online life. Up until then I’d only really used the computer for the odd bit of internet shopping and occasional surfing of the web. How things change! In the last couple of months, I’ve learnt so much and can’t believe how addictive it all is. What’s most amazing is that people actually seem to be reading my blog. So I’m waving “hello and thank you” to everyone taking the time to read my posts – I really appreciate it!

I mostly write and read blog posts in the evening. It sure beats watching endless re-runs of Top Gear on the television, which my husband normally does to unwind after a busy day at work. I have found though, that I’ve been switching the computer on earlier in the day – catching up over a quick cup of tea in the morning, or while the boys are eating their tea. This, I think, is a bit of a slippery slope so I’m trying to nip it in the bud!

Once I joined Twitter, my concerns that all this online activity would have an impact on ‘real life’ really started to take hold. The lure of taking part in an interesting (or amusing) conversation is very strong. Who doesn’t love a good chat? Everyone I’ve met so far through blogging has been really friendly and welcoming, which has encouraged me to get involved, make comments, join in conversations and generally behave a lot more confidently in making friends online, than I perhaps would do in real life.

In actual fact, I think blogging has enhanced ‘real life’ in some ways. I follow a number of ‘crafty’ blogs, which have reignited my passion for making things by hand and gathering ideas for craft activities to do with the boys. I’m also getting lots of ‘mumpreneur’ inspiration from blogs I’ve come across. I’ve been baking, practicing photography, learning new skills and generally feeling reassured that I’m in the same boat as many other mums out there, writing about similar experiences with their children.

I’m aware blogging is now very popular, but within my social circle it’s still fairly unfamiliar. Once I reached 200 hits on my blog, I felt it was time to tell my friends and family what I’d been up to. Everyone’s been very intrigued and supportive, but I also think they’ve been a little confused as to why someone with a ‘normal’, busy life, would feel the need to open up to complete strangers online? There are a number of reasons – connecting to those with similar interests, practicing my writing and ‘meeting’ lots of interesting people. I love exploring this whole new world, but just need to be careful I keep my real life / online life balance in check!

How about you? I’d love to hear your reasons for blogging and how much of an impact it has on your ‘real life’. What do your friends and family think of your blog (have you told them?) and how do you manage your ‘online time’?

This entry was posted in About my blog. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Online World

  1. Jude says:

    Hello – like you I have found a whole new online life through blogging, and yes it is addictive! I started ostensibly for business reasons, but it has gone way beyond that now. I try to keep a lid on it by only blogging about once a week, but here I am at lunchtime taking 5 minutes to check out what’s new on BMB!

  2. Funnily enough have recently written a post about my own blog/ twitter/ facebook addiciton!
    Really enjoyed your post. So much of it rang true with me. I have told only 3 people I’m blogging! Not sure why really. But you’re right, it doesn’t seem as widespread in ‘the real world’. Or maybe it is, however we are all being secret squirrels!
    I blog because I love writing. I love playing with words and phrases. It’s also a release, not to vent, but to share with like-minded souls. And oh, to have an uninterrupted view on something!
    Will look forward to reading more of yours.

  3. jfb57 says:

    I’ve been blogging snce 16th March (yes I remember the date!) It’s made such a difference to my retirement! As you know I’m going to branch out soon. Such fun isn’t it!

  4. Tatjana says:

    I’ve been “out there” for years but blogged/journalled in a password-protected space. My public blog is a new experience, and I’m loving it so far! I, too, wanted to have a space where I could do more writing, where I could talk about my interests and where opening myself up to “strangers” would enrich the experience. I love it too!

Leave a Reply

