The Gallery: Playtime

The theme for Tara’s Gallery this week is ‘Playtime’.

There are boxes upon boxes of toys in our house. Friends comment that we could probably open a toy shop once we’re done with them all! Typically though, the boys are quite happy tipping all the toys on the floor and then pretending that the plastic box they are stored in is actually a boat, castle, spaceship – or whatever else takes hold of their imagination.

My little men always seem to go for the brightly coloured, noisy plastic toys first, but they quickly discard these to play with their wooden train set, construct ‘Marble Run’ or dress up as Bob the Builder and hammer a few walls.

Picture: Boys playing

Sadly, imagination seems to be a forgotten concept in adulthood. I think this possibly explains why I found it hard at first to know how to play with my boys, especially when they were babies. So much time is taken just physically meeting their needs, it’s easy to forget to make time for play and reading stories. As the boys have got older, my fondness for playtime has grown and these days I have a great time getting down to their level and taking part in the fun!

For lots of fun ideas and activities for children, my favourite blogs are Nurturestore (who actually made the suggestion for The Gallery this week), Redtedart and The Crafty Crow – all of which are bursting full with inspiration!

This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Gallery: Playtime

  1. jfb57 says:

    Oh just look at all those bits & pieces! Great fun!

  2. Red Ted Art says:

    Oooh, that looks like our house after abut 10min of play! And so it should do (I guess!!).

    And THANK YOU so much for mentioning Red Ted Art as crafty inspiration. V chuffed. 🙂

    Maggy x

  3. Michelle says:

    Look at them having fun! Beautiful photo. I remember my room looking like that and play with all sorts of stuff. Later we would play Monopoly or with the race track all weekends!

  4. I love the feeling of concentration emanating from this photo! Reminds me of my oldest two when they were that age. (Youngest two are playing next to me now!)

  5. Harriet says:

    Among all the brilliant photos this week, you’ve really made me think. I too find it hard sometimes to remember how to play. I know I want to be making dens, and imagination and and and, but with three under 3 1/2 I still find it very difficult to know how to inspire them. Thank you for making me feel not quite so stupid, and for giving me hope that it will get easier (that said, it’s amazing how much easier playing was (for me!) at my mum’s last week, when I didn’t have the laundry, shopping, cooking, tidying etc all pulling at me too…)

  6. bubbleboo says:

    They are certainly engrossed in what they’re doing! I think imagination can be a lost art among adults – very sad!

Leave a Reply

